9 Facts About The Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Medals

emmaby Emma Sewell

With the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medal longlists being announced today, every book lover will be scouring through to find their favourites. Here are 9 fun facts and figures about the previous awards to peruse while you ponder your choices.

  1. Walker Carnegie WinnersSince 2000, Walker Books have won the most awards at 4 (and counting). 2015 – Buffalo Soldier by Tanya Landman, 2012 – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, 2011 – Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness, 2005 – Tamar by Mal Peet. They’ve also won 5 Kate Greenaway Medals in that same time.
  2. A Monster Calls written by Patrick Ness and illustrated by Jim Kay is the only book to have won both Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals.
  3. Patrick Ness (he gets everywhere doesn’t he?) also won the Carnegie Medal two years in a row in 2011 and 2012. He’s the second person to do this, the first being Peter Dickinson in 1979 and 1980
  4. Seven authors have won the Carnegie Medal twice: Peter Dickinson (1979/1980); Berlie Doherty (1986/1991); Anne Fine (1989/1992); Margaret Mahy (1982/1984); Jan Mark (1976/1983); Patrick Ness (2011/2012) and Robert Westall (1975/1981).
  5. The very first Carnegie winner was Arthur Ransome with Pigeon Post, the sixth book in the popular Swallows & Amazons’ series.
  6. A Monster Calls (winner in 2012), is the story of a boy who struggles to cope with his mother’s terminal cancer. The original story idea was conceived by Siobhan Dowd while she had terminal cancer. She agreed to write the novel for Walker, but was sadly unable to. Ness was asked to write it and Walker published it almost 4 years after Dowd’s death.
  7. Current UK Children’s Laureate, Chris Riddell, has won the Kate Greenaway Medal twice. Firstly in 2001 with Pirate Diary and again in 2004 with Jonathan Swift’s “Gulliver”.
  8. Dogger Shirley HughesGreenaway of Greenaways! In 2005 CILIP ran a poll to celebrate 50 years of the award, and find out which of the winners were the nation’s favourites. Dogger beat Each Peach Pear Plum to first place by less than 1% of the votes.
    • Janet Ahlberg, Each Peach Pear Plum (2nd place)
    • Edward Ardizzone, Tim All Alone
    • Quentin Blake, Mr Magnolia
    • Raymond Briggs, Father Christmas
    • Anthony Brown, Gorilla
    • John Burningham, Borka: The Adventures of a Goose With No Feathers
    • Lauren Child, I Will Not Ever Never Eat A Tomato
    • Shirley Hughes, Dogger (WINNER!)
    • Charles Keeping, The Highwayman
    • Helen Oxenbury, Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland
  9. Northern Lights Philip PullmanCarnegie of Carnegies! Similarly, in 2007 CILIP ran a poll for the 70th anniversary of Carnegie to find the nation’s favourite Carnegie winner. Northern Lights won with a massive 40% of the UK votes, 36% worldwide.
    • David Almond, Skellig (3rd with 8% of the votes)
    • Melvin Burgess, Junk
    • Kevin Crossley-Holland, Storm
    • Jennifer Donnelly, A Gathering Light
    • Alan Garner, The Owl Service
    • Eva Garnett, The Family From One End Street
    • Mary Norton, The Borrowers
    • Philippa Pearce, Tom’s Midnight Garden (2nd with 16% of the votes)
    • Philip Pullman, Northern Lights (WINNER!)
    • Robert Westall, The Machine Gunners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *