Book of the Month: October

by Emma Sewell
by Emma Sewell

botmIt’s time for our second round of Book of the Month. Last month we had a tough time cutting it down to one top pick and six others to watch… this month was no different.

We’d love to hear from you if you’ve read any of this month’s (or last month’s) selection. Leave us a review in the comments below, or a link to your review online.

Happy Reading!


Book of the Month Our Chemical HeartsBook of the Month

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

(Hot Key Books 9781471405839)

 

Henry Page is a hopeless romantic film buff, and when Grace Town walks into his classroom he’s instantly smitten. But Grace isn’t quite like any other leading lady he’s met before. She walks with a cane, dresses in guy’s clothes and looks like she needs a good bath.

Grace’s mystery begins to captivate Henry. Why does she visit a graveyard every afternoon? What secret does she keep locked away in her bedroom? Above all, why is Grace Town so deeply sad?

Before he knows it, Henry is sure that he is the one to unlock her happiness. But Grace is capricious, changeable, infuriating, and damaged. Henry will need to be the strongest he has ever been to survive this particular love story.

A stunning debut novel that will appeal to fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.


Six of the Best

Here are six of our close contenders for book of the month. Find yourself some more gems for your shelves.

The Hypnotist by Laurence Anholt (Corgi Childrens 9780552573450)

Jack has left Ireland for a new life in the American South as a Professor of Neurology. He’s spent his lifetime honing his skills, rarely sharing them with the world. Skills in hypnotism and mind control.

Pip is taken from an orphanage by a farmer to become a carer for his wife, and a farm hand. But this is 1960s America, and Pip is black, and the farmer and his wife are white. Race defines you and overshadows everything. As tensions reach boiling point, Jack and Pip’s lives become inextricably linked, and Jacks skills are called on as never before.

This is Laurence Anholt’s first full length novel!

Haunt Me by Liz Kessler (Orion Children’s Books 9781444009187)

Joe wakes up from a deep sleep to see his family leaving in a removals van, leaving him behind.

When Erin moves house she instantly feels like she’s at home in her new room. Even if it appears that she isn’t the only one living there.

Bit by bit, Joe and Erin find that they’ve somehow found a way across the ultimate divide – life and death. Bound by their backgrounds, their feelings grow for each other. Until a chance meeting with Joe’s brother, Olly, leaves Erin with a decision to make.

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige (Bloomsbury Childrens 9781408872932)

Snow lives in the Whittaker Institue, a high-security mental hospital. She knows she doesn’t belong there, but she can’t remember where she does belong… apart from the strangest dreams.

When a mysterious orderly leave a door open Snow knows she has to leave. Suddenly she finds herself in Algid, her true home, a place of witches, thieves and secrets. As her past comes back to her she discovers she has been trying to escape the royal lineage that destiny says she’ll inherit from her powerful and ruthless father. Snow must choose her fate, heroine or villain, queen or broken girl.

Book_of_the_Month_The_Hypnotist Book of the Month Haunt Me Book_of_the_Month_Stealing_Snow

The Amateurs by Sara Shepard (Hot Key Books 9781471405266)

Aerin idolised her seventeen-year-old sister Helena. They dressed up their dog, they made YouTube videos, they did everything together. But in Helena’s senior year everything started to change, she pushed Aerin away. And then she disappeared. Four years later, Helena’s body is found.

Refusing to give up on her sister she spends months trying to figure out who killed her. A young officer suggests she tries a website, Case Not Closed, where she meets Seneca and Maddox who offer to help. The three have more in common than just unsolved crimes, it seems that their cases might have more in common than they know.

Disruption by Jessica Shirvington (HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd 9780732298104)

What if a microchip could identify your perfect match? What if it could be used against you and the ones you love?

Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation’s M-Bands became mandatory. Evolved from smartphones, these bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they are used to control it.

Two years ago, Maggie Stevens saw someone she loved taken away from her, shattering the world that she knew. But now she’s ready. The heir to the M-Corp empire is the key to her plan, but as the pieces fall into place, could he mean the destruction of everything she’s fought for?

The Vanishing Island by Barry Wolverton (HarperCollins 9780062221919)

It’s 1599, the Age of Discovery in Europe. But for Bren Owen, growing up in the small town of Map on the coast of Britannia has meant anything but adventure.

Enticed by the tales sailors have brought through Map’s port, and inspired by the arcane maps his father creates as a cartographer for the cruel and charismatic map mogul named Rand McNally, Bren is convinced that fame and fortune await him elsewhere. That’s when Bren meets a dying sailor, who gives him a strange gift that hides a hidden message. Cracking the code could lead Bren to a fabled lost treasure that could change his life forever, and that of his widowed father. Before long, Bren is in greater danger than he ever imagined and will need the help of an unusual friend named Mouse to survive.

Book of the Month The Amateurs Shepard Book_of_the_Month_Disruption Book_of_the_Month_Vanishing_Island


Great links to try:

Find interviews and illustrations from Laurence (and Catherine) Anholt on the Anholt website, and follow him on Twitter.

Read ten facts about Liz Kessler on her website. (Spoiler, fact ten is my favourite.)

Take a look at this short extract from Danielle Paige’s Stealing Snow on USA Today.

Find Sara Shepard on Twitter.

Check out Jessica Shirvington’s Twitter feed.

Download an activity pack for Barry Wolverton’s Vanishing Island.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *